Wednesday, 8 June 2011

Configure systems to boot into a specific runlevel automatically

Another short and sweet objective, all you have to do is modify the /etc/inittab file. This file contains a lot of comments and a description of the different run levels, but all you need to modify is this line:
If you have installed RHEL graphically, your default runlevel will be 5. At any rate, all you need to do is to change the number to your desired run level. Please make sure you understand what services run in the run level you are setting as default. You might find yourself without an expected graphical interface or worse still, unable to access the system remotely.

You can check the current runlevel with:
who -r

No comments:

Post a Comment